“We teach ourselves at home and have no homework”

The support of flipped learning is gaining tremendous speed as more research points to its positive impact on student achievement.  Quite frankly, the accounts of success using the model are inspiring and encouraging (@TechNinjaTodd – toddnesloney.com, is a most follow on this topic).  I knew I wanted to give it a shot, so I did some research — I educated myself on the why’s and how’s of flipped learning.  In doing so, however, I kept coming back to one issue.  I was pretty confident I could pull it off, and I was fairly certain my students would respond well, but what about their parents?

This is the conversation I envisioned in my head:

Mom:  “How was your day today?  Did you like your new teachers?”

Student:  “Yeah, they’re pretty cool.”

Mom:  “Do you have any homework”

Student: “A few things.  But you know what’s really cool?!?!?  I will NEVER have any homework in math.”

Mom:  “What do you mean you will NEVER have any homework in math???”

Student:  “Yeah…instead of my teacher teaching us in class, we go home and teach ourselves (which kinda sucks) but at least that means we don’t have to do any homework”

Mom: “Soooo what is your teacher (who is supposed to be teaching you) doing all day then?

Student:  “I don’t know … giving us worksheets or somethin…”

I am an educator familiar with the concept of flipped learning, so I wouldn’t be too concerned if my child came home and told me their teacher was using this model.  But what about the parent who is unfamiliar?  Then I thought, wouldn’t it be great if there was a resource I could provide to parents to educate them about flipped learning. So, that’s exactly what I did.

I didn’t think a flier or anything in print could properly convey the information I wanted parents to read so I decided to design a website instead.  It’s pretty basic, but I think it does a good job of giving parents a birds eye view of flipped learning in action as well as offering research backed statements pertaining to the benefit of flipped learning on student achievement and motivation.

While I haven’t flipped my own classroom yet, I am planning on trying it with one block of students soon and am interested to see whether providing this resource to parents will prove helpful.  Please feel free to share and use for your own purposes.

Flipping Amazing:  An Educational Resource for Parents

Leave a Reply

